

Press Release

13th November 2014, Adama, Ethiopia

More than 300 participants from the Eastern Africa Standby Force (EASF) have gathered at the Rift Valley City of Adama in Ethiopia for the final stage of the validation process of the regional Force.

EASF CPX was organized in pursuit of attaining Full Operational Capacity (FOC), a year in advance of the Africa Standby Forces' (ASF) target of December 2015.

EASF is conducting a two week Command Post Exercise (CPX) code named "Mashariki Salam 2014," symbolizing "Peace in Eastern Africa" in preparation for operational capability which aims at responding to security threats in any of the Member States.

The EASF is a fortifying collective effort, matched by the political will of the EASF Member States' to satisfy the existing need by ensuring collective security of the region.

In his remarks during the official opening ceremony today, the Defence Minister for the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, Mr. Siraj Fegessa, said "The event marks the achievement of an important milestone for the region and a landmark foundation on which to declare FOC of the EASF."

The Exercise brings together a multinational and multidimensional regional Force consisting of civilian, police and military components which have, over the years, undergone various aspects of Peace Support Operations (PSO) training to prepare for rapid deployment.

The Command Post Exercise 2014 is one of the major joint exercises which EASF has organized. Others are Command Post Exercises 2008 and 2011 which were held

in Nairobi, Kenya and in Khartoum, Sudan respectively, Field Training Exercises in 2009 and 2013 in Djibouti and Jinja in Uganda respectively.

Alongside the ongoing Exercise in Ethiopia, EASF is also in the process of finalizing a force verification procedure for all Member States to confirm readiness in preparation of declaration of Full Operational Capability in December 2014.

EASF Member States include Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan and Uganda.

EASF is one of the Regional Standby Forces established under the African Peace and Security Architecture to address conflict in the African Continent. The other regional security blocks are the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), the South Development Community (SADC), the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), and the Northern African Regional Community (NARC).